Monthly Archives: May 2013

New White Paper – Evaluating Mobile Technology: The Formula for Success

The ALL-SIS Task Force on the Use of Mobile Technology was charged to “draft a report to help academic law libraries evaluate mobile technologies and determine how to best use them to meet the needs of their patrons.”   After a year of hard work, the Task Force completed its study and drafted a white paper entitled Evaluating Mobile Technology: The Formula for Success.  

The white paper and accompanying spreadsheets (with working formulas) are available on the ALL-SIS website at

Thank you to all of the Task Force members who worked so hard on this paper.


Jennifer Wondracek
Head of Research & Faculty Services
University of Florida- Levin College of Law
Lawton Chiles Legal Information Center
Gainesville, FL
(352) 273-0726


2013 ALL-SIS Awards & Grants

On behalf of the ALL-SIS Awards Committee, it is my great pleasure to announce the following 2013 ALL-SIS award and grant winners:

 2013 ALL-SIS Frederick Charles Hicks Award for Outstanding Contributions to Academic Law Librarianship is awarded to Judith M. Wright. Judith is the Associate Dean, Library & Information Services, at University of Chicago D’Angelo Law Library.

The Frederick Charles Hicks Award for Outstanding Contributions to Academic Law Librarianship recognizes sustained efforts to improve academic law librarianship.

Judith’s approaching retirement brings to a close forty years of service not only to the University of Chicago D’Angelo Law Library, but to the academic law library community at large. Over the course of her distinguished career, Judith has chaired numerous national committees and led a variety projects at the local, regional, and national levels. She has modeled forward-looking practices in her own library and generously shared those models with colleagues at other institutions. She has managed two extensive renovations and has shared her facilities expertise in presentations and writings.

Through a generation of change brought by automation, desktop computers and networks, Judith was a leader both on the University of Chicago campus and in the greater law library community in adopting new technologies and leveraging them to improve library work. She has been a steward of the academic law library profession in the ABA and AALS and through her work with the Law Library of Congress.

2013 ALL-SIS Outstanding Service Award goes to Creighton J. Miller, Jr. Creighton is Librarian for Research & Bibliographic Instruction at Washburn University School of Law Library.

The ALL-SIS Outstanding Service Award honors an ALL-SIS member who has made outstanding contributions to the SIS in areas of section activity and professional service.

Creighton has served diligently as the ALL-SIS webmaster since 2010. He can always be relied upon to quickly and effectively respond to requests to update various portions of the website. With the many active ALL-SIS committees this is no small feat!  In addition to his service as webmaster, Creighton’s history of service to the ALL-SIS includes serving on the Task Force to Review and Update the ALL-SIS Web Presence, the ALL-SIS Archives and Website Committee, and the Faculty Services Committee. His dedication to maintaining and improving the ALL-SIS website is an invaluable service to the ALL-SIS.

2013 ALL-SIS Outstanding Article Award goes to Lee F. Peoples for his article, Testing the Limits of WestlawNext, 31 Legal Reference Services Quarterly 125-49 (2012). Lee is the Oklahoma City University School of Law Professor and Law Library Director.

Lee has published a number of articles, books, and book chapters on comparative law and on the impact of technology on legal research, the judiciary, and the law. He is co-founding editor of the Legal Information and Technology eJournal on SSRN.

Prior to his appointment as Law Library Director in 2010 he served as Associate Director, Associate Director for Faculty and Research Services, and Head of Reference Services.  Before joining the faculty Professor Peoples practiced law in Oklahoma City.  He is admitted to practice in the State of Oklahoma, Western District of Oklahoma, and Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals.

2013 ALL-SIS CONELL Grants are awarded to Stacy Posillico and Isaac Samuels. They each will receive $500 for the purposes of attending CONELL.

Stacy graduated from Northeastern University School of Law in 2001 and practiced for many years before becoming a law librarian.  She recently graduated with her M.L.S. from St. John’s University and is currently working as a Reference Librarian & Library Webmaster at the Gould Law Library which is part of the Touro College, Jacob D. Fuchsberg Law Center.

Isaac received his J.D. from Touro Law in May of 2009, and will graduate with his Master’s in Library Science from St. John’s University in May of this year.  He currently serves as a Reference Librarian and Education Technology Specialist at Touro Law Center.  Both Stacy and Isaac have agreed to become members of the New Academic Law Librarians Meeting (NALLM)/Mentoring Committee and will write an article for the ALL-SIS Newsletter about their experience at CONELL.

2013 ALL-SIS Regular Member Stimulus Grant:  Emily Roberts is the winner of the Regular Member Stimulus Grant and will receive $1000 to attend the conference this year.  Emily is currently a Law Librarian for the Congressional Research Service of the Library of Congress.  She has worked as a firm librarian since 2008, first in New York City and then in Philadelphia.  Emily has a M.L.S. from Pratt Institute and a J.D. from Brooklyn Law School.

2013 ALL-SIS Active Member Stimulus Grant:  Frances Brillantine is the winner of the Active Member Stimulus Grant and will receive $1000 to attend the conference this year.  Frances has been a member of ALL-SIS since 1990, and an active member since 2007.  She has served on the Middle Managers Breakfast and Awards Committees.  Currently, Frances serves as the Vice Chair of the Student Services Committee and is a member of the Public Relations Committee.  Frances has been the Head of Access Services at Catholic University of American Law Library since 2000.

Congratulations to all the winners! They will be recognized at the ALL-SIS Reception and Awards Ceremony to be held on Sunday, July 14, 2013, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. at the University of Washington Law School, during the 2013 AALL meeting.

Jane Larrington
Reference Librarian
University of San Diego
Legal Research Center

2013-14 Executive Board Election Results

Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect: Christine Hepler, Interim Law Library Director, Donald L. Garbrecht Law Library, University of Maine School of Law

Member-at-Large: Cindy Guyer, Law Library-Research Services, Barnett Information Technology Center & Call Law Library, Gould School of Law, University of Southern California