ALL-SIS 2015 Award and Annual Meeting Grant Recipients

The ALL-SIS Awards Committee is pleased to announce the winners of the 2015 ALL-SIS Awards and Annual Meeting Grants.  We look forward to honoring this distinguished group in person at the ALL-SIS Awards Ceremony and Reception which will be held on Sunday, July 19th from 6:30-8:30 pm.


  • Frederick Charles Hicks Award for Outstanding Contributions to Academic Law Librarianship: Blair S. Kauffman, Law Library Director and Professor of Law, Yale Law School, Lillian Goldman Law Library
  • The ALL-SIS Outstanding Article Award:  James M. Donovan, Carol A. Watson, & Caroline Osborne, The Open Access Advantage for American Law Reviews, Edison 2015-03A,
  • The ALL-SIS Outstanding Service Award: Merle J. Slyhoff, Collection Development Librarian, University of Pennsylvania Law School, Biddle Law Library


  • Active Member Stimulus Grant:  Susan David deMaine, Research & Instruction Librarian, Indiana University, Robert H. McKinney School of Law, Ruth Lilly Law Library, & I-Wei Wang, Reference Librarian, University of California Law School, Boalt Hall Library
  • Regular Member Stimulus Grant: Karen Selden, Metadata Services Librarian, University of Colorado Law School
  • CONELL Grant:  Grace Lee, Law Library Intern, University of Washington School of Law, Gallagher Law Library


Kathy Darvil
ALL-SIS Awards Committee Chair

Kathleen Darvil
Access Services and Reference Librarian and Adjunct Assistant Professor of Law
Brooklyn Law School Library
Brooklyn NY

ALL-SIS Executive Board Candidates

The Executive Board is pleased to announce the slate of candidates for the upcoming ALL-SIS election:

Vice Chair/Chair Elect:
Prano Amjadi, Santa Clara University School of Law
Jessica Wimer, University of California, Irvine School of Law

Executive Member-At-Large:
Patrick Meyer, University of Detroit Mercy School of Law
Kate Irwin-Smiler, Wake Forest University School of Law

Congratulations to these four candidates, and many thanks to the Nominating Committee for their work in putting forward these candidates.

Further information on each of the four candidates will appear in the next issue of the newsletter. Ballots will be sent to all registered members of ALL-SIS in early April and results will be announced in early May.

Susan deMaine
ALL-SIS Secretary-Treasurer

Susan DeMaine
Research & Instructional Services Librarian
Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law
Indianapolis IN

Winter issue of ALL-SIS Newsletter

Happy New Year! The winter issue of the ALL-SIS Newsletter is now available for viewing at

Included in this issue is Remembering Nancy P. Johnson, a tribute to a beloved and esteemed colleague who passed away in December.

Many thanks to all our contributors, and to ALL-SIS webmaster Creighton Miller.

I-Wei Wang

I-Wei Wang
Reference Librarian
University of California School of Law Library
Berkeley CA

ALL-SIS AALL Management Institute Grant

ALL-SIS is pleased to offer a $1000 grant to an ALL-SIS member to attend the AALL 2015 Management Institute. The ALL-SIS Awards Committee invites applications for the grant from ALL-SIS members who have not received or used any ALL-SIS grants in the past. Preference will be given to newer managers who are active participants in the ALL-SIS, AALL, and/or AALL Chapters.

The deadline for submission of the grant application is Monday, December 15, 2014 at 5 PM Pacific Time.

Details on all the awards and grants, including the nomination and application procedures, can be found at

Kathleen Darvil
Access Services and Reference Librarian and Adjunct Assistant Professor of Law
Brooklyn Law School Library
Brooklyn NY

Update: Sourcebook for Teaching Legal Research

I am  pleased to announce that the ALL-SIS Sourcebook for Teaching Legal Research has now been migrated to the new AALLNET website. This means that AALL members will be able to access the Sourcebook using their personal AALL login credentials–you will no longer need to use a special username and password combination. You’ll find a link to the Sourcebook listed under the “Popular Resources” tab on the main ALL-SIS website (

At this point, all ALL-SIS website content has been migrated and is available through the AALLNET portal.

As always, please feel free to contact me with any problems or concerns related to the ALL-SIS website.



Creighton J. Miller, Jr.
ALL-SIS Webmaster
Librarian for Research & Bibliographic Instruction
Washburn University of Topeka
School of Law Library
1700 SW College Ave.
Topeka, KS 66621

Election Issue of the ALL-SIS Newsletter

The Election Issue of the ALL-SIS Newsletter is online and posted to the newsletter page at .  It includes photos, biographies, and personal statements from all the candidates for ALL-SIS office for the 2014-2015 academic year.  Please make sure to check it out, and please VOTE!



Barbara G. Traub, J.D., M.L.S.
Head of Reference and Instructional Services
St. John’s University School of Law Library
Jamaica NY

Announcing the New Student Services Toolkit

The ALL-SIS Student Services Committee is pleased to announce that the new Student Services Toolkit is now available online:

The Toolkit was created due to the efforts of the 2012-2013 Student Services committee, led by Morgan Stoddard, and to the current committee.

The committee has also re-organized and added content to the Student Services website (, and to the Student Services Websites & User Guides page (

We hope the ALL-SIS community finds these resources useful in their efforts to expand or enhance services to students. Please feel free to contact the committee with any questions or comments, or to submit additional materials for the Toolkit. We plan to solicit for some specific content in the upcoming weeks.

A huge thank you is due to the ALL-SIS webmaster, Creighton Miller, and to all the committee members past and present who have worked so hard on these three projects:

Amy Ash
Robert Beharriell
Heather E. Casey
Stacy Etheredge
Margaret Krause
Joe Mitzenmacher
Maureen Moran
Jennifer Prilliman
Jacob Sayward
Erin Schlicht
Morgan Stoddard
Jackie Woodside

Frances M. Brillantine
Chair, ALL-SIS Student Services Committee 2013-2014
Head of Access Services
Judge Kathryn J. DuFour Law Library
Catholic University of America